COMM 111: Home

Students taking Communication 111 should be able to successfully do the following:

• Recognize what information is needed to complete specific exercises/assignments
• Identify the various types of materials appropriate for use in a college-level research assignment
• Use databases/search engines to explore a given topic
• Use a magazine/journal database to access necessary research materials
• Correctly create a list of references in APA or MLA style

Refer to the tutorials in the left-hand column if you require a refresher in any of these skills

We use citations to do a number of things:

• Support our information/argument,
• Make it possible for our audience to find out more,
• Give credit to the previous authors/speakers whose work we are drawing from,
• Avoid plagiarism.

To do these things in your speech, you'll want to include oral citations. For more information and examples of oral citations, visit the College of Southern Nevada Library's guide on oral citations. 

Academic Search Premier

Provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database provides citations and abstracts for articles found in more than 8,000 publications.

Academic Onefile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, with articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format.

• Phone: (541)  917-4645
  • If you leave a message, a librarian should get back to you within one business day.
• Text: (650)  667-6620
• Email: libref@linnbenton.edu
• Watermark (formerly Aviso):
  • Choose Library as the "location," then select the librarian you wish to work with.
• Answerland:
  • Answerland is the Oregon statewide 24/7 library chat service. Your question may not be answered by a LBCC Librarian.