Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Home

Information Literacy Outcomes for Criminal Justice students

Students in Criminal Justice Courses are expected to:

Identify essential information sources within their discipline, including journals, reference works, websites, and works by important authors and government organizations. - Use both lay and professional terminology within their discipline to formulate keyword searches
Utilize advanced database search functions to access relevant information from essential sources
Identify subject-specific databases and search engines relevant to their topic

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides authoritative, peer-reviewed articles for a wide range of academic subjects such as: Communication, Criminal Justice, Health and wellness, Fine Arts, History, Science, Technology, and Writing.

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
This collection covers all aspects of the criminal justice system. So, whether you are studying to become a law enforcement officer, paralegal, forensic scientist or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection is a great place to start your research. It has academic journals, general magazines, reference w

Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Search LBCC’s legal collection.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Ideal for legal research, LegalTrac provides law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service has many good statistical publications on various topics in criminal justice.

H:Social Sciences

HV: Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology.

K: Law

Know your assignment requirements such as:
- Length
- Number of sources
- Types of source
- Citation format (MLA, APA, or other)
Research before you begin.
- Preliminary research will help you decide on a topic that interests you.
Outline your paper. Creating a blueprint will help the writing process go smoothly.
Complete additional research if needed. Be mindful of how many direct quotes you are using.
Properly cite all your sources.
Proofread carefully-try reading your work out loud. You’ll be surprised by how many errors you catch!
Make use of LBBC’s resources such as
- Citation research guide
- LBCC’s librarians
- The Writing Center

Oregon Crime Reports Information on crime in Oregon.

Phone: (541) 917-4645
- If you leave a message, a librarian should get back to you within one business day.
Text: (650) 667-6620
Email: libref@linnbenton.edu
Watermark (formerly Aviso):
- Choose Library as the "location," then select the librarian you wish to work with.
Answerland:

Answerland is the Oregon statewide 24/7 library chat service. Your question may not be answered by a LBCC Librarian