Education: Home

 Students in Education Courses are expected to:

• Identify essential information sources within their discipline, including journals, reference works, websites, and works by seminal authors/scholars.
• Use both lay and professional terminology within their discipline to formulate keyword searches
• Utilize advanced database search functions to access relevant information from essential sources
• Identify subject-specific databases and search engines relevant to their topic
• Use all AVAILABLE resources to locate resources on a given topic
• Obtain materials, if necessary, from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan services or by physically visiting other libraries

• Professional Development Collection
  Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including peer-reviewed titles and educational reports.
• Educator's Reference
  Contains selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many reference sources. This database focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
• Academic Search Premier
  Provides access to full-text, peer-reviewed articles in social sciences, humanities, general science, and education.  Recommended starting point for research using magazines and journals.
• Google News
  A good source for recent news stories.
• ERIC
  ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center from the U.S. Dept. of Education, lists journal articles and educational documents, such as lesson plans and educational studies. 1966 - present.
• Teaching Channel Videos

• New York Times Education Section
• Education Week
• Education Week - Teacher Magazine
• Instructor Magazine
• The Education Gadfly
  from the Thomas Fordham Institute
• Chalkboard Project
• Teaching Tolerance Magazine

• Phone: (541)  917-4645
  • If you leave a message, a librarian should get back to you within one business day.
• Text: (650)  667-6620
• Email: libref@linnbenton.edu
• Watermark (formerly Aviso):
  • Choose Library as the "location," then select the librarian you wish to work with.
• Answerland:
  • Answerland is the Oregon statewide 24/7 library chat service. Your question may not be answered by a LBCC Librarian.

• Oregon Department of Education
• Education Week