Oregon History: Home

All nine federally recognized tribes in Oregon, as well as the federally unrecognized Chinook Indian Nation, have History sections on their Web sites.  Additionally, the resources below may be useful:

• Books about Oregon's indigenous peoples 
• Native Americans Articles on The Oregon Encyclopedia 
  A collection of encyclopedia articles from The Oregon Encyclopedia.
• Plateau Peoples' Web Portal 
  This portal -- built as a collaboration between Plateau People and Washington State University -- showcases materials from the Paiute, Tenino (Warm Springs), Umatilla, Nimíipuu (Nez Perce), and Wasco peoples of Central and Eastern Oregon. The collection also includes many materials related to Chemawa boarding school.
• Coquille Indian Tribe Library 
  This page includes a list of newspapers published by Oregon tribes, about halfway down the page.

Academic Search Premier

Provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database provides citations and abstracts for articles found in more than 8,000 publications.

Academic Onefile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, with articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format.

Maps and images

• Oregon Digital 
  Almost 200,000 images from throughout Oregon History.
• Oregon Historical Society Digital Collections 
• Mapping the Pacific Coast 
  Maps of the Pacific Coast starting from 1544 to 1820.
• Oregon Historic Photographs Collection 
• PSU Library Digital Exhibits 
• PSU Archives Digital Gallery 
• OSU Natural Resources Digital Collections 

The Library has several books about the history of Oregon, Linn, and Benton counties.  You can find many of these books at the following call numbers:

•  F871-F885 are Oregon History
•  LD6501.L45  is the history of Linn-Benton Community College

• Phone: (541)  917-4645
  • If you leave a message, a librarian should get back to you within one business day.
• Text: (650)  667-6620
• Email: libref@linnbenton.edu
• Watermark (formerly Aviso):
  • Choose Library as the "location," then select the librarian you wish to work with.
• Answerland:
  • Answerland is the Oregon statewide 24/7 library chat service. Your question may not be answered by a LBCC Librarian.