Health and Physical Education: Home

Students are expected to:

• Identify subject-specific databases relevant to their topic
• Use both lay and professional terminology within their discipline to formulate keyword searches
• Identify essential information sources within their discipline, including journals, reference works, websites, and works by important authors/scholars.
• Use advanced database search functions to access relevant information from essential sources

• HealthSource Consumer Edition
  This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health.
• Alt HealthWatch
  This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports on complementary and alternative medicine. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
• Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
  Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
• CINAHL
  CINAHL provides full-text articles from more than 610 nursing & allied health journals, and the many more journals indexed and their article summaries included so that you can easily request the full-text article. The focus is on nursing topics, but dental care, occupational therapy, and other allied health fields are also featured. 
• Health Reference Center Academic
  Provides access to full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
• Gale Health and Wellness
  Provides access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
• Gale OneFile: Psychology
  Provides access to periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.

• Phone: (541)  917-4645
  • If you leave a message, a librarian should get back to you within one business day.
• Text: (650)  667-6620
• Email: libref@linnbenton.edu
• Watermark (formerly Aviso):
  • Choose Library as the "location," then select the librarian you wish to work with.
• Answerland:
  • Answerland is the Oregon statewide 24/7 library chat service. Your question may not be answered by a LBCC Librarian.