\
Skip to Main Content
National Agricultural Library
- National Agricultural Library
NAL is one of five national libraries of the United States. It houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.
Ag Data Commons
- Ag Data Commons
The Ag Data Commons provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research and related domains such as agronomy, genomics, hydrology, soils, agro-ecosystems, sustainability science, and economic statistics. Data included in the Ag Data Commons is funded in whole or in part by USDA.
National Agricultural Library's Agricultural Thesaurus
- National Agricultural Library's Agricultural Thesaurus
The Thesaurus and Glossary are online vocabulary tools of agricultural terms in English and Spanish and are cooperatively produced by the National Agricultural Library, USDA, and the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture as well as other Latin American agricultural institutions belonging to the Agriculture Information and Documentation Service of the Americas (SIDALC). NAL Thesaurus is used to select controlled vocabulary terms for subject indexing of AGRICOLA, PubAg and other databases.
Databases
- Agricola
use for Agriculture / Botany / Biology / Soil Science / Animal Science
- Fuente Académica
Fuente Académica offers scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Multimedia coverage of environmental issues, including health care and climate change.
- Gale OneFile: Agriculture
Contains full-text articles from academic journals, general magazines and news sources. The articles cover a wide range of agriculture-related topics, from the practical aspects of farming to scientific research in horticulture.
- Greenfile
Use for research into environmental issues
- National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
The New National Agricultural Library Digital Collections (Beta) provides several collections of full-text historical documents on the agricultural and food sciences.
- PubAg
Explore 217,077 full-text journal articles on the agricultural sciences, in addition to over 2,886,100 citations.
Statistical Data Sources
- EPA Toxic Release State Factsheet
- Food and Agriculture Data
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
- ISRIC-World Soil Information
ISRIC is the custodian of global soil information. ISRIC produces, gathers, compiles and serves quality-assessed soil information together with their partners at global, national and regional levels.
- National Agricultural Statistics Service
NASS conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture like production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers are only a few examples.
- National Weather Service
This site provides weather, water, and climate data, forecasts and warnings.
- Toxics Release Inventory
The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a resource for learning about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities
- U.S. Geological Survey Water Data
The United States Geological Survey (USGS) has collected water-resources data at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.The data included in this web site is current and historical data. The types of data collected include surface water and groundwater. Surface-water data, such as gage height (stage) and streamflow (discharge), are collected at major rivers, lakes, and reservoirs. Groundwater data, such as water level, are collected at wells and springs. Water-quality data are available for both surface water and groundwater.
- USDA Agricultural Research Service
ARS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's chief scientific in-house research agency. ARS delivers scientific solutions to national and global agricultural challenges.
- Water Data Portal
WDP provides access to a large amount of data related to water and agriculture. WDP contains meteorological, hydrological, socio-economic, spatial data layer, satellite images as well as hydrological model setups. The data in the WDP, both spatial & non-spatial, are supported by the standardized metadata and are available for download by user including academia, scientists, researchers and decision makers. However, access is provided in compliance with copyrights, intellectual property rights and data agreements with our partners.
Contacting the Library
- Phone: (541) 917-4645
- If you leave a message, a librarian should get back to you within one business day.
- Text: (650) 667-6620
- Email: libref@linnbenton.edu
- Watermark (formerly Aviso):
- Choose Library as the "location," then select the librarian you wish to work with.
- Answerland:
- Answerland is the Oregon statewide 24/7 library chat service. Your question may not be answered by a LBCC Librarian.
Issues and Research in Agricultural Sciences
Agricultural History
- ARS History timeline
History of Research at the U.S. Department of Agriculture and Agricultural Research Service.
- Food and Information Center - History links
Find information on the history of dietary guidance including older editions of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the history of the National School Lunch program and other food assistance programs.
- Organic Farming History
Trace the origins of the organic agriculture movement through historic publications and reports, oral histories, video archives, USDA legislation and regulations, and other published resources.
- USDA History Links
U.S. Department of Agriculture history
Linn-Benton Community College Library
6500 Pacific Blvd SW
Albany, OR 97321
email: libref@linnbenton.edu / phone: 541-917-4645
