OER come in all shapes, and sizes - or rather all topics and formats. Reviewing other OER is a great way to start understanding what your OER could or should look like. Getting a general idea of what is out there will help you feel more confident about creating, developing, remixing or adopting OER for your courses. Remember, you don't need to start from scratch, and you can adopt someone else's OER.
Examples from around Oregon:
Examples from around the world:
The following resources are a small selection of subject specific OER repositories, search engines and materials. Instructors are responsible for reviewing materials before adopting. See the "Review" tab for rubrics and criteria for selecting and adopting OER.
| Subject | Website | Resource Type | Description |
|---|---|---|---|
| Biology | Encyclopedia of Life | Mixed | EOL is an online encyclopedia which provides content freely to the public for reuse and linking. |
| CTE | WISC-Online | Mixed | OER from Wisconsin's technical colleges. Extensive content in manufacturing, welding, and automation. |
| Chemistry | ChemCollective | Mixed | ChemCollective provides a collection of course materials (virtual labs, tests, etc.), under a creative commons license, created by faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon. |
| OpenChemistry Lecture Videos | Videos | OpenChemistry Lecture Videos provides lectures created and taught by UC Irvine instructors, which covers a wide range of topics and levels. | |
| Computer Science | Green Tea Press | Textbooks | Green Tea Press books, covering a variety of computer science topics, are created under an open license which allows users to download, use and modify content freely. |
| Economics | The Economics Network | Mixed | This guide put together by the University of Bristol links to numerous textbooks, lectures, etc. which cover economics topics. |
| Open Data Institute | Mixed | The Open Data Institute provides loads of open data focusing on five main sectors: agriculture and nutrition, data infrastructure, finance, global development, and open cities. | |
| Geology | GES DISC | Mixed | The NASA Goddard Earth Sciences (GES) Data and Information Services Center (DISC) provides Earth science data, information, and services to researchers and students. |
| Health | JHSPH Open | JSPH provides health and medical courses, including full course materials for instructors. Courses are often paired with free or affordable textbooks. | |
| History | Smart History | Mixed | Smart History provides online materials for the study of art and cultural heritage. Content is created by art historians, archeologists, curators and other specialists. |
| Humanities | American Memory | Mixed | The Library of Congress' American Memory project provides free access to mixed material types which document the American experience. |
| LibriVox | Audiobooks | LibriVox provides free, public domain audiobooks read by volunteers from around the world. | |
| Language | Center for Open Education and Language Learning - University of Texas at Austin | Course Materials | Center for Open Education and Language Learning produces and links to resources for the teaching and learning of foreign languages. |
| Open Culture | Mixed | Open Culture brings free online cultural & educational media content together in one location. | |
| Mathematics | American Institute of Mathematics | Textbooks | The American Institute of Mathematics has produces a list of approved open textbook which cover all types of mathematics. |
| GeoGebra | Mixed | According to their website, "GeoGebra is dynamic mathematics software for all levels of education that brings together geometry, algebra, spreadsheets, graphing, statistics and calculus in one easy-to-use package." They use an open source software and have interactive authoring features. | |
| MyOpenMath | Course Materials | MyOpenMath provides everything an instructor may need to teaching mathematics, and can act as a central location for assignments, discussion, etc. MyOpenMath is partnered with the OpenTextBookStore and uses those online textbooks. | |
| Online Statistics: An Interactive Multimedia Course of Study | Course Materials | Online Statistics: An Interactive Multimedia Course of Study provides resources for teaching introductory statistics at the college level. | |
| OpenTextBookStore | Textbooks | The OpenTextBookStore has created a catalog of online open math textbooks. They provide a description of the book, table of contents, supplemental materials, licensing information, a review and link to the content. | |
| SageMath | Mixed | SageMath is a free open-source mathematics software system available online or for download. | |
| Psychology | Noba | Textbooks | Noba has textbook modules that you can compile into your own course textbook. Print books are available. |
| Sociology | The Society Pages | Mixed | The Society Pages (TSP) is an open-access social science project which provides articles, blogs, and podcasts. |
| The Sociological Cinema | Videos | The Sociological Cinema provides videos for sociology instructors to include in their courses. | |
| STEM | OU Engineering Media Lab | Course Materials | The eCourses portal contains course material, including textbooks and interactive illustrations. Material is only available through course sites, which instructors can access after creating an account. |
| PhET | Interactive Simulations | The PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates and provides free interactive math and science simulations. Simulations are available in a range of subjects at varying levels up to university. | |
|
Writing |
Writing Commons | Course Materials | Writing Commons provides open-education materials for the instruction of writing and information literacy. |
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.