Queer Studies: Home

• LGBTQ America
  An online book on LGBTQ history in the United States, published by the National Park Service.
• LGBTQ+ Studies: An Open Textbook

LGBTQ+ Studies is designed to provide an introduction to and an overview of LGBTQ+ Studies for the introductory level college student and the curious public. This textbook is designed to be free for everyone to use; it is community-oriented, and a cultural production grounded in the struggle to challenge stereotypes, silences, and untruths that have long been circulated about lesbians, gays, bisexuals, trans* folk, queer and non-binary peoples, our histories, and our cultures.

• Digital Transgender Archive

The Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) was created to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. 

• ACT UP New York Records

The AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power (ACT UP) was founded in March 1987 at the Lesbian and Gay Community Center in New York City's Greenwich Village as an organization devoted to direct action to call the attention to the severity of the AIDS crisis and its impact on the lives of individuals. These records of the organization consist of administrative files, minutes, correspondence, records of demonstrations, financial documents, chapter and committee records, subject files, conference notes and programs, published and near-print materials, ephemera, fliers and handbills, photographs, artifacts, posters and placards documenting the organization's efforts.

• AIDS Education Posters Collection

This collection is to document the efforts to educate and inform groups and individuals about HIV/AIDS in over 130 countries and in over 75 languages and dialects, dating from the very dawn of the global AIDS pandemic in 1982 to the present.

The library uses specific terminology from the Library of Congress to group similar titles together.  These terms are called subject headings.  Some of these terms may be old-fashioned or out-of-date, but can still help you find interesting books on your topic.  Here are some useful ones:

• Asexuality
• Bisexuality
• Coming out (Sexual orientation)
• Gender identity
• For non-binary, genderqueer, genderfluid: Gender nonconformity
• Gay men
• Homosexuality
• Lesbians
• Transgender people

Academic Search Premier

Provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database provides citations and abstracts for articles found in more than 8,000 publications.

Academic Onefile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, with articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format.

• Phone: (541)  917-4645
  • If you leave a message, a librarian should get back to you within one business day.
• Text: (650)  667-6620
• Email: libref@linnbenton.edu
• Watermark (formerly Aviso):
  • Choose Library as the "location," then select the librarian you wish to work with.
• Answerland:
  • Answerland is the Oregon statewide 24/7 library chat service. Your question may not be answered by a LBCC Librarian.