Sociology: Home

Students in sociology courses are expected to:

• Identify essential information sources within their discipline, including journals, reference works, websites, and works by seminal authors/scholars.
• Use both lay and professional terminology within their discipline to formulate keyword searches.
• Utilize advanced database search functions to access relevant information from essential sources.
• Identify subject-specific databases and search engines relevant to their topic.
• Use all AVAILABLE resources to complete a literature review on a given topic.
• Obtain materials, if necessary, from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan services or by physically visiting other libraries.

To find sociology books, explore the following areas in the LBCC collection:

 HM - Sociology (general)

 HN - Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.

 HQ - The family. Marriage. Women.

 HS - Societies: secret, benevolent, etc.

 HT - Communities. Classes. Races.

 HV - Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology.

 HX - Socialism. Communism. Anarchism.

• LBCC Library Citation Guide
• LBCC Writing Center

• Phone: (541)  917-4645
  • If you leave a message, a librarian should get back to you within one business day.
• Text: (650)  667-6620
• Email: libref@linnbenton.edu
• Watermark (formerly Aviso):
  • Choose Library as the "location," then select the librarian you wish to work with.
• Answerland:
  • Answerland is the Oregon statewide 24/7 library chat service. Your question may not be answered by a LBCC Librarian.

Academic Search Premier

Provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database provides citations and abstracts for articles found in more than 8,000 publications.

Academic Onefile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, with articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format.