Find books in the library based on subject headings:
Provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database provides citations and abstracts for articles found in more than 8,000 publications.
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, with articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format.
African American Literature Book Club
"Explore AALBC.com and immerse yourself in the richness of the African American literary tradition.
AALBC.com (African American Literature Book Club) is the oldest, largest, and most frequently visited, web site dedicated to books by or about people of African descent. Started in 1997, AALBC.com is a widely recognized source of author profiles, book and film reviews, book recommendations, event information, discussion forums, writer resources, interviews, articles, videos, and more."
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture includes a list of authors, autobiographies and other bibliographical resources and much more.
A Brief Guide to the Harlem Renaissance
Poets.org is produced by the Academy of American Poets, the nation's leading champion of American poets and poetry since 1943.
African American History Month
February is Black History Month. The Library of Congress along side many other federal agencies bring together a wealth of information on Black History. See the Exhibits and Collections link at the top of the page to get started.
The Library of Congress presents The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. A noteworthy and singular publication, the Mosaic is the first Library-wide resource guide to the institution's African-American collections. Covering the nearly 500 years of the black experience in the Western hemisphere, the Mosaic surveys the full range size, and variety of the Library's collections, including books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film, and recorded sound.
African American Facts, Issues
An overview of Black American history presented by Infoplease.com. Includes timelines, contemporary issues, notable biographies and more. This is a great resource to browse to learn about the broad variety of topics in Black History.
The National Archives page on African American History holds a wealth of material documenting the Black experience. These page highlight the resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.
The King Papers Project is a cooperative venture of Stanford University, the King Center, and the King Estate. Its principal mission is to publish the definitive fourteen-volume edition of The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.,a comprehensive collection of King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts. This website includes a wealth of information and documents pertaining to Martin Luther King, Jr.
Howard University Library Guide
While some of these guides are used for classes, many provide a rich source of information for further reading and insights.
Books contributing to understanding racism and cultural diversity, by The Cleveland Foundation
Black Caucus of the American Library Association, Inc.
National Council for the Social Studies
Coretta Scott King Book Awards
Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table, American Library Association
Organization of American Historians
Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence
Recognizes rising African American fiction writers.
Go On Girl! Book Club Annual Author Awards
Founded in 1991, with 30+ chapters supporting authors of the Black African Diaspora.
Hooks Institute's National Book Award
Benjamin L. Hooks Institute for Social Change at the University of Memphis, TN
Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Awards
Supports African American literature and named after Zora Neal Hurston & Richard Wright.
Langston Hughes Award Medallion
City College of New York
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, Hollywood Branch
African American Intellectual History Society
QBR The Black Book Review and the Harlem Book Fair
W.E.B. DuBois Distinguished Book Award
National Conference of Black Political Scientists
Academic Search Premier
Academic Onefile