The following databases all have articles on dental topics, including those that have "nursing" in the title. In a library a database is a collection of records about resources, mainly journal articles. One database usually pulls articles from many journals, but not all databases access the same journals. When you search the database, you will pull up a list of article records. Some of the records will have only the publication information and a description of the article, while other records will have a link to the full text.
- CINAHL: articles related to dental care
Provides citations and many full text articles for nursing and allied health literature and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports on complementary and alternative medicine. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
- Gale Health and Wellness
Provides access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
- Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
- HealthSource Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health.
- HealthSource Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names written in lay language for consumers.
- PubMed
PubMed is one of the most popular and authoritative open databases for medical research. It provides citations to biomedical journals, including all those from MEDLINE. Links to full text sometimes available. MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
