When doing library research for nursing articles, you will usually look in a database. Journals in the library usually aren't purchased individually, but as part of database packages with multiple journals, like a grab bag. When a journal is in a database, all its articles are in the database too, and each article is searchable. You can search by keyword, subject, author, journal title, article title, date, etc. Many of these articles will be full-text, which means you can download and read them immediately. For ones that aren't full-text by have a short summary, you can easily request the article and it will be emailed to you in 1-3 business days.
CINAHL is one of the definitive research tools for nursing and allied health professionals, and you'll encounter it at the associate and bachelor levels, and in professional life. It provides full text for many nursing and allied health journals, including publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. In addition, CINAHL offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, full-text evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and more. CINAHL Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.
Working on your Nursing 101 research table and paper and need a nursing journal? Here are step-by-step tips.
Limiters are what you use to narrow down your search, or to find a specific item. Here are several limiters useful to know for LBCC for assignments.