World War I: Home

Click on the links below to browse our collection of WWI related videos on DVD and streaming online through our streaming film databases.

• DVDs on WWI
• Streaming videos on WWI from Films on Demand
• Streaming films from AVON

Click on the links below to see our books and ebooks on WWI.

• Print books on World War (1914-1918) 
• Ebooks on World War I

• African Americans in World War I
• Women in World War I
• World War I and America

Below are historical objects, exhibits, and educational materials freely available online. Anything published before 1923 is in the public domain. That means that there are no copyright restrictions on primary sources published from 1914-1918.

• International Encyclopedia of the First World War
  Articles on people and events from the era are linked to maps and primary sources.
• WWI Centennial Commemoration Curriculum
  The US Army Center of Military History provides standards-aligned lessons on WWI.

• On The Firing Line with the Germans (1915)
  The only documentary made during WWI.
• British Pathe Films Collection
  Clips of footage from one of the biggest archives of WWI films.
• Voices of the First World War from the BBC
  Hear the war recounted by people who were there.
• WWI Resources from the Library of Congress
  Sheet music, images, newspapers, and more from WWI

• The United States WWI Centennial Commission
  A podcast, fundraising for a WWI memorial, and primary sources, such as a US War Information Bulletin.
• The National WWI Museum & Memorial
  Go to Explore > Online Collection Database to search primary source images and documents.
• Lest We Forget: Commemorating WWI
  This exhibit from the Pritzger Military Museum & Library provides an overview of key people and historical music, posters, and more.
• Smithsonian Institute WWI Centennial
  Examine WWI-era artifacts from the Smithsonian's collection.
• Echoes of the Great War
  American Experiences of World War I - an exhibit from the Library of Congress.

• Interactive Timeline from the National WWI Museum and Memorial
• Interactive Map from the Pritzker Military Museum & Library